A White Coat is My Closet — Jake Wells

Book Cover

 

Skylar, thank you so much for allowing me to talk a little bit about my new book.  In addition to being a complete newbie to this whole social media gig, I’m a little overwhelmed by the reality of actually seeing my words bound by a cover.

If someone had told me a couple years ago that I would actually succeed in getting a book published I would have told them that they were crazy.  Never in a million years did I dream that something I’d written would ever make it to print.  That’s one of the many reasons that I feel both surprised and privileged that “A White Coat is my Closet” will be hitting the stands Friday October 25.

The odyssey actually began about two years ago.  Writing a book has always been one of the things on my bucket list.   When I hit fifty and was forced to acknowledge that my life was approaching the downhill slide, I thought why not start?  And so, with a burst of enthusiasm, I began the project despite having no clue what I was going to write about.  The progress was initially sure and steady and then, at about the forth chapter, I suddenly found myself thinking;    “Shit, four chapters down, probably twenty-two more to go.”  I wasn’t sure that I had twenty-two pages left in me much less whole chapters.  Worse, I still hadn’t even begun to work out a storyline.  Things came to a screeching stand still.

What occurred over the subsequent months was surprising.  Despite trying desperately to give up the idea of writing a book, I somehow couldn’t shake it.  My partner and I have a little condo in the desert where we enjoy spending weekends.  Our time there is usually devoted to doing as little as possible.  We walk the dogs, hit the pool and soak up the sun.  Ironically however, during those idle hours, my brain kept mulling over different possibilities for my book and I found myself drawn back to the computer keyboard.   Somehow, the whole story started coming together.

My novel is a work of fiction but it ends up describing issues that are near and dear to my heart.  Because in my real life I’m a pediatrician, I’m extremely passionate about providing health care to children in a compassionate and loving manner.  In addition, I’m a gay man who grew up in a small community and really struggled with accepting who I really was.  Somehow, the combination of those two life experiences found a voice that evolved into a story.

Blurb:

Zack Sheldon doesn’t have time to be lonely. He’s in his last year as a pediatric resident, almost married to the job, and busy with the joys and sorrows that come with providing medical care to children. Professionally, he’s confident, accomplished, and respected. But personally he’s too insecure to approach a sexy man like Sergio Quartulli, or even to imagine that Sergio might be attracted to him.  

Zack spots Sergio from across the gym, and then a chance meeting poolside somehow turns into a date. Before Zack knows it, they’ve become a couple, but Zack’s white coat is his closet at the hospital, and committing to a relationship with Sergio makes it difficult for Zack to continue hiding behind it. On the other hand, he grew up in a small town where being gay was shameful and he works in an environment that can sometimes be homophobic, so it’s hard for him to open up about who he is. Before Zack can make a choice on his own terms, circumstances force him to make a decision. He can continue to hide, or he can step out from behind his white coat and risk everything for love

 

So there you have it. “A White Coat is my Closet” is cornucopia of experiences playing themselves out in a fictional story while attempting to remain true to those aspects of my life that were fundamentally most important;  seeking self-acceptance, the wonderful and yet challenging process of becoming a doctor, and falling in love.  Hopefully, if you are inclined to read the book, you will feel like you’ve participated in the journey.

It’s also worth mentioning that because I feel so fortunate to have been given the opportunity to have my book published, I’ve decided to play the good fortune forward.  All the royalties from the sale of “A White Coat is my Closet” will go to the HOMELESS YOUTH PROJECT at the LA GAY AND LESBIAN CENTER.  By purchasing my book, you are not only lending your support to my dream of becoming an author, but are also contributing to improving the lives of homeless gay teens.  As it says in my book’s dedication, sometimes success in life starts with being given a chance.

Thanks again Skylar.  Wish me luck.  Best wishes to both you and your readers.

Jake Wells

Best of luck, Jake! It was my pleasure!

Links:

http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=4325

https://www.facebook.com/jake.wells.16568

Link to the LA Gay and Lesbian Center’s Homeless Youth Services:

http://laglc.convio.net/site/PageServer?pagename=YW_Youth_Services

The LA Gay & Lesbian Center has created a link specifically for people who want to contribute directly to the program that the sales of my book is supporting.

http://www.lagaycenter.org/jakewells

11 thoughts on “A White Coat is My Closet — Jake Wells

  1. I do not leave a response, but after browsing through some of the responses on A White Coat is My
    Closet – Jake Wells | skylarmcates. I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it only me or do a few of the remarks come across
    as if they are written by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if
    you are posting at other social sites, I’d like to follow you.
    Could you list of the complete urls of all your social networking pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter
    feed?

Leave a Reply

