Writer-Girl Friday

This is Dedicated…?th.jpg.lion

I got the nod to write my dedication page for my upcoming book. At first, I was ready to just write “for my family,” hit send, and be done.

The problem is that I love dedications in books.  I often read the dedication page and the acknowledgement page before the actual novel to see if I like the feel of the author. Some dedications make me laugh, and other dedications make me cry.

At that point, I broke out in into a cold sweat. What the hell will I write for my dedication?  I have searched the internet and my library and examined some of my favorite dedications. When it comes to my own, I am still stuck, but I thought I’d share a few that I liked here:

“To Vik Lovell, who told me dragons did not exist, then led me to their lairs.” – One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey

 

C.S. Lewis’s The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

My Dear Lucy,

I wrote this story for you, but when I began it I had not realized that girls grow quicker than books. As a result you are already too old for fairy tales, and by the time it is printed and bound you will be older still. But some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again. You can then take it down from some upper shelf, dust it, and tell me what you think of it. I shall probably be too deaf to hear, and too old to understand, a word you say, but I shall still be

your affectionate Godfather,

C.S. Lewis

 

(Wow! Why couldn’t I have a Godfather like this one?! Mine sat on a plastic sofa offering me tap water and some stale chips.)

 

From Shaman’s Crossing: “To Caffeine and Sugar, my companions through

many a long night of writing.”

“To my mother, who liked the bit about the horse.” – Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams

 

From Lemony Snicket:

To Beatrice –

My love flew like a butterfly

Until death swooped down like a bat

As the poet Emma Montana McElroy said:

“That’s the end of that.”

 

Those are so much fun!

I am more confused than ever about my own dedication page. What are some of your favorite dedications? If you are a writer, do you spend time on your dedication or not?

One thought on “Writer-Girl Friday

  1. As both of my books published thus far (one already out and one out Jan 2) have been co-written, I felt somewhat awkward adding a dedication. It just seemed odd, but I think I will definitely dedicate the third one to my BFF because I really did write it, in part, for her, and she’s been such a support throughout the process.

    I loved reading these dedications. It gave me some ideas actually about how to proceed with my own. 🙂

Leave a Reply

